• Your current location:Home> Infomation detail

BIBF Writers 2015/7/23

Cao Wenxuan
One of China‘s most acclaimed popular authors of children‘s fiction, Cao Wenxuan‘s works are typically set in the China of the 1950s and 60s, and feature children and animals as their main characters. Titles such as Thatched Houses and Bronze and Sunflower have collectively sold millions of copies in China, and Cao has won most of the domestic prizes available to children‘s authors. His reputation abroad is on the rise, with a nomination for the Hans Christian Andersen Award, and the publication of titles including Bronze and Sunflower in English.

Feng Tang
The consummate chronicler of youth in Beijing, Feng Tang is the author of a series of novels deeply evocative of growing up in the Chinese capital during the 1990s. His main trilogy of semi-autobiographical novels evoke the experience of youth and growth with lyric accuracy, and are immensely popular with readers. Feng Tang studied medicine and management at university, now lives in Hong Kong working as an author and management consultant. His more recent novels reveal a pleasure in experimentation – Oneness, for example, is a highly explicit pastiche of traditional Chinese novels of degenerate monks and nuns.

Ge Fei
Ge Fei was born in Jiangsu Province in 1964. In 2000, he received his PhD in Chinese literature and joined the faculty of Qinghua University in Beijing. He published his first story “Remembering Mr. Wu You” in 1986, followed by “Mizhou” in 1987, a story which brought him instant fame. The subsequent novellas The Lost Boat and A Flock of Brown Birds, published in ’86 and ’87 respectively, established him as one of the standout writers of experimental “avant-garde” fiction during that decade.
In 2004, he published Kinds of Beauty, the seminal first work of a historical trilogy that also includes Rivers and Mountains Fall Asleep and Spring Comes to the South (sometimes referred to as The Last Southern Spring). He doesn’t participate in as many public events as his compatriots do, and devotes the time he does not use for writing to his teaching. When asked about what he’s working on, he will frequently respond that he’s a professor, not an author, even though practically speaking, he happens to be one of the founders of contemporary literature in China. Several of his short stories have been translated into English, French, Japanese, and Italian.

Jiang Nan
Jiang Nan is a representative writer of youth literature and net literature. He graduated from the Department of Chemistry, Peking University and received his Master’s Degree at College of Arts and Sciences, University of Washington. The circulation of his first novel Young Men in This World was 400,000 copies. His other representative works include Emperor Guangming, Cocoon, Records of Misty Ancient China, Stories of Ancient China, Shanghai Fortress and Young Men in This World. His works are mainly concerned with youth literature and science fiction and fantasy fiction, and the circulation of many of his novels is over 1,000,000.

Liu Zhenyun
Liu Zhenyun, a Chinese famous writer. Liu’s works include novels such as Yellow Flower Under the Sun in Hometown, Going Around in Hometown, Hometown: Noodles and Flowers (four volumes), Cell Phone, My Name is Liu Yuejin, One Sentence worth Ten Thousand, I Did Not Kill My Husband and etc.  Short stories such as Company of New Soldiers, Chicken Feathers Everywhere, Reminiscing 1942 and etc. One Sentence worth Ten Thousand was awarded with Mao Dun Literature Prize in 2011.  Throughout the years, Liu’s works have been translated into English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Swedish, Dutch, Russian, Hungarian, Serbian, Arabic, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese, and other languages.

Miao Wei

Miao Wei is Vice Editor-in-Chief of Sanlian Life Weekly, one of China’s most influential cultural magazines, and something of a star journalist. Previously the author of Touring this Mortal Coil, a collection of his travel columns for Sanlian, he has now begun writing fiction.
2010’s Unless the Soul Might Clap and Sing is Miao Wei’s first venture into fiction, a collection of seven short stories all narrated in the first person, exploring the life of a man much like Miao Wei himself, who navigates the comfortable, cultured reaches of Beijing’s society, among the young and the recently-young, those who are beginning to wonder what exactly this life is all about. With echoes of Catcher in the Rye, Miao Wei catches the spirit of a privileged class in search of itself. His most recent publications, The Emperor is Unwell, and There Will be Bread, are collections of linked novellas with a common theme: medicine in the first case, and food in the second.

Xi Chuan
Xi Chuan, one of China‘s most  influential poets, has published  eight poetry anthologies, including Private Preferences and  A Dream’s Worth, various  essays, and translations of authors such as E.Pound, J.L.Borges, and Gary Snyder. His poems and essays have been published in newspapers and periodicals in more than 20 countries. In 2011, the Tinfish Press of Hawaii published Xi Chuan‘s poetry  booklet Yours Truly & Other Poems, and the following year New Directions Press published Notes on the Mosquito: Selected Poems /Xi Chuan (tr.Lucas Klein), which was  shortlisted for the 2013 Best Translated Book Award and won the 2013 Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize.